Opening Hours

Birchwood Medical Centre

Today
Closed
Mon 23 May
08:00 - 18:30
Tue 24 May
08:00 - 18:30
Wed 25 May
08:00 - 18:30
Thu 26 May
08:00 - 18:30
Fri 27 May
08:00 - 18:30
Sat 28 May
Closed

Our phone lines are open between 8.00 - 9.00 am and 6.00 - 6.30 pm for medical emergencies that require the immediate attention of a doctor. 

Phone lines open at 9.00 am for book on the day and routine appointments and all other queries

Bank Holidays

We are not open on Bank Holidays, so please see the information below on how to access medical advice for when we are closed on these days.

When We Are Closed

If the surgery is closed and you need urgently medical advice, please ring 01925 823502 and follow the instructions.

Your call will be answered by a fully trained advisor who will take details of your illness and then give you the healthcare advise you need or direct you to the local service that can help you the best.  That could be A&E, Warrington GP Out of Hours Service, a community nurse or a pharmacy. 

For deaf people and those hard of hearing, a telephone services is available on 0845 606 4647.

If English is not your preferred language, you can choose to use a confidential translation service.

The GP Out Of Hours Service in Warrington is commissioned by NHS England/ Warrington CCG.

Whatever the day or time, if you or someone else experiences severe chest pain, loss of blood or suspected broken bones, go to your nearest accident and emergency department or call 999.

NHS 111

111 online is a fast and convenient alternative to the 111 phone service and provides an option for people who want to access 111 digitally. 

Your needs will be assessed and you will be given advice about whether you need:

  • Treat yourself at home
  • Go to a Primary Care Centre

If you need face to face medical attention you may be asked to attend a Primary Care Centre.

Click here to access NHS 111 online or call 111 to speak to a staff member.

stafftraining

Staff Training

In the last week of each month, the practice is closed for 1 afternoon for staff training and development in the afternoon.  This alternates between a Wednesday and Thursday each month and takes places from 1pm until 6.30pm on these specific dates.

Full details of when these days are will be listed in advance on our website and practice facebook page.

During this time, if you have an urgent medical problem you are advised to call 111 where you can be assessed by the GP out of hours service. Full information can be heard on our voice message when you ring the practice on these days.

There may be additional days for staff training held during the year, but full details will be provided in advance on our website and on our practice facebook page.

Current dates of planned staff training with afternoon practice closure:

Thursday 17th March 2022

Wednesday 27th April 2022

Thursday 26 May 2022

Wednesday 29 June 2022

Thursday 21 July 2022

Thursday 29 September 2022

Thursday 20 October 2022

Thursday 24 November 2022

Thursday 26 January 2023

Wednesday 22 February 2023

Thursday 30 March 2023